Main Menu

UK National Parks Week 25-31st July

Figures recently compiled show that paying a visit to one of the UK’s 15 National Parks is not only good for you but that visitors to National Parks contribute more than £4.5 billion to the economy with over 70 million visitors spending more than 160 million days enjoying National Parks. National Parks Week is held every year to raise awareness and celebrate Britain’s National Parks – dramatic and beautiful expanses of countryside free for everyone to visit and enjoy all year round. This year’s National Parks Week is from 25 – 31 July with a wide range of events on offer.

Carl Lis, chairman of the UK Association of National Park Authorities said, “In such financially austere times it’s good to see the significant value and economic benefits that National Parks deliver for society as a whole and our figures support and reinforce the conclusions of the recently published National Ecosystem Assessment by Government. “Together with others, National Park Authorities make sure that National Parks are kept beautiful, open and accessible so that everyone can take time out from the stresses of daily life to refresh mind, body and spirit in stunning natural surroundings. Local communities benefit from the appeal of this unspoilt countryside through holiday accommodation and local shops, pubs, restaurants and services with National Parks Week being just one of the many ways that people can enjoy their National Parks.”

Events on offer during National Parks Week include bush craft and survival skills or map and compass days in the Lake District and Peak District National Parks, a chance to be an archaeological detective for a day in the North York Moors, travel back in time to experience life in an Iron Age hut in Pembrokeshire Coast or be inspired by the National Park’s natural environment and create your own masterpiece at a messy, fun pottery session in the Brecon Beacons. Details of National Parks Week events can be found at

There are 15 Members of the National Park Family – 14 National Parks namely Brecon Beacons, Cairngorms, Dartmoor, Exmoor, The Lake District, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs, The New Forest, Northumberland, North York Moors, The Peak District, Pembrokeshire Coast, Snowdonia, South Downs and The Yorkshire Dales; and the Broads which has equivalent status to a National Park.

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email
Visit Us

This entry was posted on Thursday, June 23rd, 2011 at 12:56 pm and is filed under Activity, Latest News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)